Monday, July 22, 2024

10 new Gambian ministers sworn-in

- Advertisement -

A total of ten new Gambian ministers on Wednesday took their oaths of office to take up ministerial positions in the new government of President Adama Barrow.

The swearing in ceremony was administered by Madam Adama Ngum-Njie, Secretary to the Cabinet and attended by President Adama Barrow.

- Advertisement -

Lawyer Ousainou ANM Darboe is the Minister of Foreign Affairs, International Cooperation and Gambians Abroad. Darboe until his appointment was a lawyer by profession. He is the Secretary General of the Opposition United Democratic Party (UDP).

Hamat NK Bah is Minister of Tourism and Culture. He was a hotelier by profession. He is the leader of the Opposition National Reconciliation Party (NRP).

- Advertisement -

Omar A Jallow is Minister of Agriculture. He was one time Minister of Agriculture under the government of President Jawara. He is the leader and coordinator of the Peoples Progressive Party (PPP).

Dr. Isatou Touray is Minister of Trade, Regional Integration and Employment. Dr. Touray was a feminist and rights activist. She formed an independent party to contest in the last presidential and later joined the coalition that won the election.

- Advertisement -

Mai Ahmed Fatty is Minister of Interior. Fatty is a lawyer by profession. He was involved in a car accident by the former government of Yahya Jammeh. He is the leader of the Opposition Gambia Moral Congress GMC.

James FP Gomez is Minister of Fisheries, Water Resources and National Assembly Matters. He is also from the PPP party and one time served as mayor of Banjul for ten years during the first republic.

Amadou Sanneh is Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs.He is a Chartered Accountant and was the National Treasurer of the Opposition United Democratic Party (UDP) and immediate boss of President Barrow who was his deputy treasurer. He was convicted and sentenced to 5 years imprisonment by the former government of President Jammeh.

Lamin N Dibba is Minister of Lands and Regional Government. He was the propaganda Secretary of the Opposition UDP. He was a former National Assembly Member for Central Badibou. He was also a Community Development worker.

Henry Gomez is Minister of Youths and Sports. He is the leader of the Opposition GPDP. Prior to his appointment he was living in Germany.

Lamin B Dibba is Minister of Forestry, Environment and Climate Change and Natural Resources. He is a member of the Opposition National Convention Party (NCP). He was the Director of NGO Affairs under the Ministry of Interior.

Meanwhile, Amie Bojang-Sissoho is appointed as the new Director of Press and Public Relations at the Office of the President.

Popular Posts