The United Democratic Party (UDP) became victorious in Gambia’s Thursday Parliamentary elections, winning 31 seats out of the total 53 seats contested.


Alhaji Alieu Momarr Njai, the Chairman of the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) made the announcement Friday morning ending a night long results declaration at Election House along Bertil Harding Highway.


The Gambia went to the Polls on Thursday to vote for new Parliamentarians, four months after the defeat of long time ruler Yahya Jammeh whose APRC party has ever dominated the National Assembly in his 22 years tyrant rule.


According to Chairman Njai, from the results received from the seven (7) returning officers in the fifty-three (53) constituencies in the National Assembly elections of April 6 2017, the UDP won with 31 seats, gaining the majority in the new National assembly.


“UDP won 31 seats; APRC won 5 seats; NRP won 5 seats; GDC won 5 seats; PDOIS won 4 seats; PPP won 2 seats and Independent Candidate won 1 seats” he said.


The UDP won Lower Badibu; Jarra West; Jarra East; Kiang Central; Kiang East; Kiang West; Bakau; Central Badibu; Tallinding Kunjang; Lower Fulladu West; Upper Fulladu West; Niani; Janjangbureh; Sami; Upper Nuimi; Illiasa; Lower Nuimi; Serrekunda West; Bundungka Kunda; Jeshwang; Kantora; Tumana; Busumbala; Kombo East; Latrikunda Sabiji; Sanneh Mentereng; Sandu; Brikama South; Brikama North; Old Yundum and Kombo South.


Chairman Njai rates the voter turn-out at 42 per cent.


Meanwhile, a total 886,000 where registered to vote in the elections, according to the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC).

A total of 239 registered candidates representing 9 political parties and Independent candidates were contesting for the 53 seats in the country’s Parliament.