By Alieu Ceesay
Former Army General and current chairman of the Super Nawettan Organizing Committee, Lang Tombong Tamba has preached for a peaceful conduct during the 2017 Super Nawettan, better known as Zonals.
The inter-zonal football championship continue to be the most followed and watched local football competition in the country.
People turned in their thousands to support their different zones. 14 zones- Banjul, Bakau, Sukuta, Gunjur, Serrekunda East, Serrekunda West, Lamin, Serrekunda Central, Brufut, Brikama, Foni and Kombo East, Manjai, and Barra, Essau and Mayamba who go by the name (BEM).
Tamba, who was speaking during the grouping for the championship, reminded the fans and players to remember that they are the same and should not allow football to separate them.
The 2017 championship will open on Sunday when defending champions Gunjur take on Bakau at the Independence Stadium.
Below is the grouping for the tournament.
Group A Gunjur Lamin Bakau SK Central
Group B Banjul Foni Brikama Manjai
Group C SK East Kombo East Brufut
Group D Sukuta SK West BEM